Wednesday, 2 May 2012

Loughgall 25th Anniversary

The P.H. Pearse Society is hosting an Independent Republican March and Commemoration on Sunday 6th May at 5pm from Galbally Community Centre. The families of all nine men killed at Loughgall by the SAS on 8th May 1987 will be represented.

The event is non-party political and everyone is welcome. No party-political flags or banners are to be carried and the Commemoration itself will consist of a member of each family (or someone nominated by the family) talking about their loved one.

The families have also organised an anniversary mass in St. John the Baptist’s Church, Galbally at 7.30pm on Tuesday, 8th May.

Volunteers Declan Arthurs, Seamus Donnelly, Tony Gormley, Eugene Kelly, Paddy Kelly, Jim Lynagh, Padraig McKearney and Gerard O’Callaghan were members of the East Tyrone Brigade IRA. Civilian Anthony Hughes was also killed that evening. These men were all victims of the British Shoot-to Kill Policy in Ireland.

The attack was part of British murder campaign in East Tyrone/North Armagh in the late 1980’s/early 1990’s when the full might of the British war machine including SAS, British Army, RUC, UVF, UDR were unleashed on the people of East Tyrone.

These nine men were husbands, fathers, sons and brothers to their loved ones whose only crime was that they were Irish in British Occupied Ireland. They were killed by faceless, nameless paid SAS assassins who were smuggled into Ireland to carry out Britain’s war of terror against the democratic rights of the Irish people.

This commemoration gives all Republicans, young and old, a chance to remember these fine Irishmen who died twenty five years ago that evening in Loughgall. Their story is one that the people of Ireland will always remember with sadness, anger, love and pride.

No comments:

Post a Comment